Library Hours: Holidays and Closures

Holidays and Library Closures 2021

Sometimes our libraries are unavailable due to holidays and events, and sometimes due to unplanned closings such as emergency situations in our buildings. If your library has a planned or unplanned closing, it’s important to spread the word so that we can all help patrons know.  Posting your library’s closures on the shared LibCal calendar and your library’s website is great!

If your library is closed, it is likely:

  • for one of the following holidays (see the table below)
  • due to term breaks or staff development days
  • or due to an emergency closure (due to weather, for example)

Delaware’s libraries are assumed to be closed on the following dates, though this is subject to change.  Some libraries close for professional development and staff training, too.

Friday December 25, 2020 Christmas Day
Friday January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day
Monday January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Monday February 15, 2021 Presidents’ Day (not recognized by all libraries)
Friday April 2, 2021 Good Friday (not recognized by all libraries)
Monday May 31, 2021 Memorial Day
Monday July 5, 2021 Independence Day Observed
Monday September 6, 2021 Labor Day
Thursday November 11, 2021 Veterans’ Day
Thursday November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day
Friday November 26, 2021 Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve/Christmas Observed
Friday December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve