Library Hours: Holidays and Closures

Holidays and Library Closures 2021

Sometimes our libraries are unavailable due to holidays and events, and sometimes due to unplanned closings such as emergency situations in our buildings. If your library has a planned or unplanned closing, it’s important to spread the word so that we can all help patrons know.  Posting your library’s closures on the shared LibCal calendar and your library’s website is great!

If your library is closed, it is likely:

  • for one of the following holidays (see the table below)
  • due to term breaks or staff development days
  • or due to an emergency closure (due to weather, for example)

Delaware’s libraries are assumed to be closed on the following dates, though this is subject to change.  Some libraries close for professional development and staff training, too.

Saturday December 25, 2021 Christmas Day
Saturday January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day
Monday January 17, 2022 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Monday February 21, 2022 Presidents’ Day (not recognized by all libraries)
Friday April 15, 2022 Good Friday (not recognized by all libraries)
Monday May 30, 2022 Memorial Day
Monday July 4, 2022 Independence Day Observed
Monday September 5, 2022 Labor Day
Thursday November 10, 2022 Veterans’ Day
Thursday November 24, 2022 Thanksgiving Day
Friday November 25, 2022 Thanksgiving Holiday
Saturday December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve/Christmas Observed
Saturday December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve